Not Really Sure When I’m NOT Working

1 Feb

I’ve written about this before, but I’m still impressed by the amount of paradigms that need to be broken, or at least re-evaluated, when combining work and pleasure into one lifestyle.

I’ve combined my passions (travelling and teaching English) into an online, English-learning platform that I’ve named Tripppin. I’ve been working on it for almost a year now, so after 6 months travelling and filming, and 5 months developing the platform and User Interface, I’ve reached the part where I have to organize the info into lessons.

That means that, theoretically, I should be in Sao Paulo, where I currently live, uploading videos, writing questions, working out a point system, and dealing with the zillions of details ahead of the upcoming beta-launch in early April.

But, I’m not. I’m up in northeastern Brazil, in a beautiful, beachside village, called Barra Grande. I have friends who live here, and I scored a very cheap ticket, so it’s actually cheaper for me to be here than in Sao Paulo.

Obviously, I brought my laptop (from where I’m typing this) and I manage to alternate surfing sessions with online meetings, but I don’t have enough bandwidth here to upload any content. Therefore, I focus on the other aspects of the business, and remind myself that every trip I take is an opportunity to get more content for Tripppin.

But, I don’t really need more content now. I’ve got over 200 lessons in 14 countries, and ESL coming out of the wazoo.

Now is the time to tie it all together, so I’m only spending a week here. I fly back to Sao Paulo on Friday, then I can start the uploading and testing, which will undoubtedly lead to more filming, editing, tweaking, etc…

After 10 days of that, I’ll be in Cartagena, Colombia for a wedding, and Barranquilla for Carnaval, which again, will provide me with more amazing content that I don’t really need right now.

Nevertheless, I’ll register it all, and manage to take care of the sides of the business that can be done on the road.

Come to think of it, the biggest paradigm in developing a work/leisure lifestyle has been figuring out when I’m not working. And so far, that only seems to happen when I’m either asleep or in the water. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Not Really Sure When I’m NOT Working”

  1. Pablo Nacer February 1, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Well done Mau!!!!
    Também procuro viver nessa linha tênue entre trabalho e não trabalho.
    Nos vemos em abril por aí.
    Abração!!!!

    • Mau Buchler February 1, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      Gracias Pablito! See you in April.
      Brax!

Leave a Reply

